Kelly Kinser Scores Brownstown All-Stars Win; Boknecht Tops UMP Modified Main

Brownstown, IN – June 2,1999 – Kelly Kinser made the short drive from his nearby home in Bloomington, IN pay off, as he drove to the win in the 40 lap A-Main for the All-Star Circuit of Champion Sprint Cars in a special Wednesday night event at Brownstown Speedway.

Brian Ellenberger and Joey Saldana brought the 21-car field down to the start, with Ellenberger looping his mount in front of the entire field in turn two, causing the caution to wave for a complete restart. On the second attempted start, Saldana jumped into the lead followed by Kinser, Mark Keegan, Paul McMahan, and Danny Smith. Saldana would hold the top spot until lap 6 when Kinser passed him for the lead while the duo raced down the backchute into turn three. Kinser would survive cautions on lap 12 and lap 20 for spins by Paul May and would pull away from the field on each restart. Kinser worked a different groove on the track throughout the event as other drivers worked the middle and top grooves. The Bloomington IN, native worked the hub of the ¼ mile semi-banked clay oval to perfection. At the end of the 40-lap grind, Kinser took the checkered flag first in the Kinser Timber/Franklin Power Products #4k ahead of Saldana and McMahan. The winner’s entry was a Stealth Chassis; powered by a Gaerte Engine, with the tires of choice being McCreary.

The UMP Modifieds shared the evening’s racing program with the All-Star Sprints. Matt Boknecht of Seymour, IN took advantage of his inside pole position starting spot and jumped to the lead, never to be removed from the point and leading the event from the green flag to the checkered flag. Boknecht’s modified, sporting sponsorship from the Indiana State Excise Police and George’s of Seymour, finished the 25 lap feature ahead of Adam Sasser, Mark Barber, who drove the Alan Magner entry and started 18th in the race, Joe Godsey, and Gary Burton. Completing the top ten in the race were Scott Patman, Randy Petro, Brent Londeree, John DeMoss, and Brad Thrasher.

UMP Modifieds
1st Heat – Matt Boknecht, Brent Londeree, Gary Burton, Joe Wilson
2nd Heat – Randy Petro, Rick Hines, Gary Barrow, Brad Thrasher
3rd Heat – Adam Sasser, Steve Trabue, Greg Lee, Brad Cummings
4th Heat – Joe Godsey, Scott Patman, John DeMoss, Billy Peeden
1st Consy – Jay Humphery, Keith Deppe, Troy Burton, Jason Sims, Don Barnett
2nd Consy – Mark Barber, Nelson Gingery, Brian Sullivan, Scott Ramey, Rob Brickert
Feature – Boknecht, Sasser, Barber, Godsey, Gary Burton, Patman, Petro, Londeree, DeMoss, Thrasher, Gingery, Hines, Peeden, Cummings, Humphery, Lee, Wilson, Barrow, Trabue, Deppe