Applegate Picks Up Bomber Special Win

Brownstown, IN – June 5,1999 – The Bomber division was highlighted in race action Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway. The Bomber division feature race paid $700 to win and saw Rick Applegate of North Vernon, IN score the win.

Applegate, who was also fast qualifier, started alongside Darren Crawhorn in the front row, with Applegate taking command. Jeff Helton would take the lead on lap 4, but Applegate would resume the lead spot on lap 6. Applegate would drive away from the field and work lapped traffic to perfection and score the victory in the 25-lap event. Jason Dorsan would finish second, followed by Dash for Cash winner Sam Chastain, Charlie Stevens, and Matt Cummings completing the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Darrell Dearing, Robbie Palmer, Alan Martin, Todd Kempf, and Wes Hartley. There was 50 cars signed in for the Bomber activities.

The Street Stock division was also on the racing card and Tim Clark of North Vernon, IN padded an already growing point lead by winning yet another feature for the division. Clark passed Rusty Smiley with six laps remaining and drove away to see the checkered flag first in the 20-lap feature. Trailing Clark were Al Flick, Bret Ezzo, Joe Johnson, and consy winner Mike Fields. Completing the top ten were Eddie Kindred, Jason Hehman, Cory Brown, Gary Green, Tim Eddelman.

Two Enduros were contested, one being for men drivers and the other for female drivers. The Men’s Enduro was won by Frankie Coomer of Austin, IN followed by Jim Ruddick, Mike Basham, Larry Gingery, and Dave Wallen. The Women’s Enduro was won by Randi Pratt of Scottsburg, IN followed by Carman Cozzin, Connie Click, Sheila Mannix, and Wanda Sallee.

Top Qualifier – Rick Applegate 18.909
Dash for Cash – Sam Chastain, Charlie Stevens, Darrell Dearing, Rick Applegate, Mike Seal
1st Heat – Rick Applegate, Nate Wentworth, Mike Seal, Jim Pfieffer
2nd Heat – Darren Crawhorn, Robbie Palmer, Wes Hartley, Matt Bex
3rd Heat – Darrell Dearing, Kevin Applegate, Jason Dorsan, Robbie Wilson
4th Heat – Jeff Helton, Charlie Stevens, Terrance Johnson, Scott Richardson
5th Heat – Sam Chastain, Alan Martin, Matt Cummings, Vernon Soeder
1st Consy – Matt Bex, Todd Kempf, Bobbie Johnson, Bubba Woods, Frankie Warren
2nd Consy – Ryan Scott, Josh Hayes, Soeder, John Collins, Mike Strunk
Feature – Rick Applegate, Dorsan, Chastain, Stevens, Cummings, Dearing, Palmer, Martin, Kempf, Hartley, Seal, Hayes, Soeder, Scott, Bex, Wentworth, Helton, Crawhorn, Bobbie Johnson, Kevin Applegate, Terrance Johnson

Street Stocks:
Heat Winners – Willie Sallee, Joe Johnson, Barry Gerkin
Consy Winner – Mike Fields
Feature - Tim Clark, Al Flick, Bret Ezzo, Johnson, Fields, Eddie Kindred, Jason Hehman, Cory Brown, Gary Green, Tim Eddelman, Dave Barnett, Gerkin, Roy Bruce, Gary Green, Tom Allman, Sallee, Rusty Smiley, Chris DeWeese, Earl Plessinger, Mark Hines