Sasser scores career best with Modified Nationals win at Brownstown

BROWNSTOWN, In (July 10, 1999) - Adam Sasser of Bedford, Ind., scored the biggest win of his career, Saturday night, as he captured the 40-lap, $3,000-to-win Midwest Modified Nationals at Brownstown Speedway. Sasser led the entire 40 laps for his first career win at Brownstown in the UMP modified division.

A stellar field of 71 cars, representing six states, were on had for the event.

The 15-lap Bomber division feature saw Rick Applegate of North Vernon, Ind., capture his second win of the year at Brownstown as he led the entire distance to get the win.

The Hoosier mini-stocks were in action with Phil Fultz getting his second win of the year at Brownstown by winning the 12-lap main event.



Fast Time: Jimmy Owens, 16.897

1st Heat - Johnny Wheeler, Owens, Daryl Herbert, Billy Peeden

2nd Heat - Randy Petro, Brad Thrasher, Brent Londeree, Terry Trammell

3rd Heat - Joe Godsey, Nelson Gingery, Gary Trammell, Brad Cummings

4th Heat - John DeMoss, Scott Patman, Donnie Fleetwood, Keith Deppe

5th Heat - Adam Sasser, Todd Gilpin, Kerry Norris, Randie Sweeney

6th Heat - Matt Boknecht, Earl Plessinger, Brad Erwin, Tim Dieriam

1st Consy - Matt Tiller, Bob Schrader, Jim Ruddick, Alan Barr

2nd Consy - Jeff Martin, Jeff COne, Sam Brandenburg, Don Barnett

3rd Consy - Randle Sweeney, Dieriam, Bradley Sturgeon, Elvin Hershberger

Midwest Modified Nationals (40 laps): Adam Sasser, Jimmy Owens, Scott Patman, Earl Plessinger, Brent Londeree, Randy Petro, Joe Godsey, Brad Thrasher, Daryl Herbert, Kerry Norris, Brad Erwin, Jeff Martin, Donnie Fleetwood, Tim Dierlam, Randle Sweeney, Jeff Cone, Brad Cummings, Matt Boknecht, Rob Brickert, Bob Schrader, Todd Gilpin, Johnny Wheeler, Matt Tiller, Gary Trammell, John DeMoss, Nelson Gingery.


Heat winners: Rick Applegate, Larry Harris, Darren Crawhorn and Bubba Woods.

Consy winners: Corey Southern and Tom Hardwick.

Feature: 1. Rick Applegate, 2. Larry Harris, 3. Sam Chastain, 4. Troy Clark, 5. Darren Crawhorn, 6. Charlie Stevens, 7. Bubba Woods, 8. Darren George, 9. Ryan Scott, 10. Wilie Sallee.


Heat winners: Seth Hall, Rob Snow and A.J. Bright.

Feature: 1. Phil Fultz, 2. Greg Owens, 3. A.J. Bright, 4. Willie McRoberts, 5. Billy Moore, 6. Jim Holman, 7. Louise Shepard, 8. Rob Snow, 9. Bill McRoberts, 10. Jr. Garrett.