Don O’Neal Snags 8th Brownstown Speedway Victory of 1999

Brownstown, IN – August 7 – Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN was victorious in the Late Model feature Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway in the final tune-up race before this weekend’s Jackson 100. O’Neal’s win was his eighth of the season and his 28th career win at Brownstown.

At the drop of the green flag on the 25-lap Late Model main event, O’Neal shot to the lead from his third starting spot exiting turn two, passing the front row duo of Frankie Coomer and Todd McKinney. The first caution would then fly on lap 3 for a spin in turn two by Derek Ramp. On the restart, O’Neal would again set a quick pace with Coomer, McKinney, James Huff, and Cale Kern in pursuit. Huff would snatch third from McKinney on lap 4, then shoot by Coomer for second, one lap later. The caution would appear again on lap 9 for a turn four spin by Jeff Simonton. After two failed attempted restarts, the green would appear for good as the final 17 laps would be contested caution-free. Kern would take fourth on lap 9, with Scott Smith moving in to the top five on the same lap. O’Neal’s lead would continue to grow as he began the lapping process on lap 13. The race would finish with O’Neal’s Indiana Department of Tourism, O’Neal Wood Products #71 C.J. Rayburn mount as the winner, with Huff, Coomer, Kern, and Smith completing the top five. C.J. Rayburn, McKinney, Mark Barber, Dennis Bocknecht, and Rick Sowders rounded out the top ten.

The Street Stock feature would see Earl Plessinger hold the early advantage, until the midpoint of the 20-lap main, when Mike Fields caught Plessinger, with the duo racing side-by-side for 3 laps, until Fields took the lead for good on lap 12. Fields’ NAPA Auto Parts of Brownstown and Seymour. MadDog Motorsports #33 Flybyu Chassis would win as Plessinger would trail the Brownstown native at the finish. Rusty Smiley, Barry Gerkin, and Randy Moore completed the top five. The second five at the finish were Tim Clark, Eddie Kindred, Greg O’Neill, Willie Sallee, and Joe Johnson.

The Bomber feature would produce a first-time winner at Brownstown as Bubba Woods of Bedford, IN led flag-to-flag to score the 15 lap feature for the class. Trailing Woods’ Prince Excavating, World Class Limos, Bedrock Tire, Cummings Race Shop, Cummings Race Engines, Fultz Auto Supply #00 Hobbs Chassis at the finish were Rick Applegate, Kevin Applegate, Charlie Stevens, and Sam Chastain. Completing the top ten were Willie Sallee, Greg Hicks, Corey Southern, Alan Magner, and Matt Bex.

SUMMARY – Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, IN – August 7, 1999

Late Models:
Top Qualifier – Don O’Neal – 15.269
1st Heat – O’Neal, James Huff, Cale Kern, Jeff Walls
2nd Heat – Frankie Coomer, C.J. Rayburn, Mark Barber, Ray Godsey
3rd Heat – Todd McKinney, Scott Smith, Steven Godsey, Dusty Chapman
Feature – O’Neal, Huff, Coomer, Kern, Smith, Rayburn, McKinney, Barber, Dennis Boknecht, Rick Sowders, Walls, Bill Workman, Mark Schaefer, Mark Bechelli, Levi Godsey, Steven Godsey, Chapman, John Finn, Jeff Simonton, Derek Ramp, Mike Darlage, Paul Crockett, Ray Weston

Street Stocks:
1st Heat – Rusty Smiley, Joe Johnson, Tim Clark, Ryan Hehman
2nd Heat – Barry Gerkin, Dan Moore, Jeremy Hines, Roy Bruce
3rd Heat – Earl Plessinger, Trent Niflis, Willie Sallee, Al Flick
4th Heat – Gary Green, Randy Moore, Greg O’Neill, Dale Ayers
5th Heat – Mike Fields, Eddie Kindred, Donnie Wilson, Rick Burton
1st Consy – Flick, Perry Bruce, Steve Hunt, Jason Hehman, Jerry Adams
2nd Consy – Ayers, Kory Brown, Steve Pyles, Mark Hines, Burton
Feature – Fields, Plessinger, Smiley, Gerkin, Randy Moore, Clark, Kindred, O’Neill, Sallee, Johnson, Bruce, Wilson, Dan Moore, Hines, Hunt, Brown, Ayers, Pyles, Niflis, Flick, Green

1st Heat – Bubba Woods, Darren Crawhorn, Alan Magner, Darrell Dearing
2nd Heat – Larry Harris, Nate Wentworth, Sam Chastain, Frankie Warren
3rd Heat – Charlie Stevens, Willie Sallee, Matt Bex, Ryan Scott
4th Heat – Greg Hicks, Corey Southern, Nelson Gingery, Paul Owens
5th Heat – Rick Applegate, Brian Ballard, David Robinson, Rick Wilson
1st Consy – Kevin Applegate, Warren, Matt Cummings, Scott, Alan Martin
2nd Consy – Wilson, Tom Harwick, Josh Turner, Jennifer Johnson, Josh Hayes
Feature – Woods, Rick Applegate, Kevin Applegate, Stevens, Chastain, Sallee, Hicks, Southern, Magner, Bex, Gingery, Cummings, Wentworth, Wilson, Turner, Robinson, Warren, Hardwick, Harris, Ballard, Crawhorn