Scott James Goes Flag-to-Flag in 16th Annual NALMS Kenny Simpson Memorial at Brownstown

Brownstown, IN-May 20, 2000- Second-generation young gun Scott James of Lawrenceburg, IN grabbed his first ever win at Brownstown Speedway Saturday night when he was victorious in the 16th Annual Kenny Simpson Memorial for the Northern All-Star Late Model Series. The win by James marked his fourth career NALMS victory and his first at Brownstown in the $2,000 to win race that drew 49 entries.

The drop of the green flag on the 20 car starting field saw James shoot to the lead off of turn two, with Scotty Earl, Don O'Neal, C.J. Rayburn, and Jim Curry giving pursuit. O'Neal would go around Earl for second on lap 2, with Rayburn also getting by Earl to take the third spot. James would hold a steady three-to-five car length lead over O'Neal, as Rayburn and Curry began to battle for the third spot, while Mark Barber would bypass Earl and move into the top five on lap 6. Curry would wrestle third away from Rayburn on lap 7 and would quickly pounce on O'Neal for the runner-up slot, with the pair racing side-by-side until Curry snatched the spot exiting turn four on lap 10. The challenge for James would now be maneuvering through slower traffic, as Curry was now beginning to close the gap to the point. Around this time, all eyes would focus on the battle for sixth as fast qualifier Bob Pierce and fellow Illinois shoe Richie Hedrick began a wicked side-by-side dance for the sixth spot, with the duo trading the position back-and-forth on numerous occasions. Back up front, the lead pair of James and Curry were racing hard through slower traffic, with Curry continuing to creep closer to James for the lead. Laps began winding down and by lap 25, Curry had pulled his mount to within inches of James for the lead. On lap 28, Curry would show his hand as he attempted to deal a pass beneath James in turns one and two, but just couldn't muster the power needed to get around James. James would then hold off Curry to visit victory lane in his Shepherd Excavating, Baylor Trucking, Powell Gravel and Topsoil, Kevko Graphics, D and S Machine Products #83 Rocket Chassis, Racetec Engines powered entry.

Curry would take runner-up honors in the Kenny Simpson event for the third time in his career, with O'Neal grabbing the third spot. Rayburn and Barber would have steady drives to complete the top five. Pierce would win
the 15 lap battle for sixth over Hedrick. First consy winner Randy Petro would come home eighth, Steven Godsey ninth, and second consy winner Scott Smith would complete the top ten.

The UMP Modified feature would see Todd Gilpin of Columbus, IN take advantage of his outside pole position starting spot and pull away from the remainder of the field and win the 20 lap event in dominant fashion. The win for Gilpin was his second of the year at Brownstown behind the wheel of his Dasco Race Fabrication, Feel Badd Live Bait, Palmer's Sewer Service, Kari Morris Chevrolet, Kenny's and Son Wrecker Service #19 Dazzler Chassis mount. Darren Davis held off John DeMoss for the second spot, while Matt Boknecht would settle for fourth. Young Clint DeMoss would have his best career Brownstown finish by placing fifth. Completing the top ten were Nelson
Gingery, Adam Sasser, Brent Londeree, Joe Godsey, and Levi Godsey.

The Bomber feature saw Tim Clark take the lead in the late going and take the checkered flag first, only to have the win nullified after the car was found to have an illegal carburetor. This allowed Matt Bex to of Avoca, IN to inherit the win, his fifth of the year, in his Bailey Flowers, Matlock Construction, East Vending, Cummings Race Engines #31. Bubba Woods would take second, with Matt Cummings third. Darrell Burton and Ray Godsey, Jr. completed the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Darren Crawhorn, last week's winner Robert Walters, John Phelps, Jamie Wilson, and Roger Reichenbacker.

SUMMARY-Brownstown Speedway-Brownstown, Indiana-May 20, 2000

Northern All-Star Late Models(49 cars)
Top Qualifier- Bob Pierce 14.795
1st Heat- Scott James, Doug McCammon, Pierce, Greg Johnson
2nd Heat- Scotty Earl, C.J. Rayburn, Marty O'Neal, Randy Petro
3rd Heat- Don O'Neal, Jim Curry, Richie Hedrick, Scott Smith
4th Heat- Mike Jewell, Ernie Barrow, Mark Barber, Lee Devasier
1st Consy- Petro, Steven Godsey, Johnson, Doug Ault, James Huff
2nd Consy- Smith, Mike Munson, Gary Burton, Frankie Coomer, Gary Barrow
NALMS Provisionals- Brad Barrow and Doug Ault
Feature- James, Curry, Don O'Neal, Rayburn, Barber, Pierce, Hedrick, Petro, Godsey, Smith, McCammon,
Ault, Jewell, Earl, Ernie Barrow, Munson, Brad Barrow, Burton, Marty O'Neal, Johnson

UMP Modifieds(42 cars)
1st Heat- Darren Davis, Joe Godsey, Levi Godsey, Nelson Gingery
2nd Heat- Todd Gilpin, Tim Prince, Gary Barrow, Joe Wilson
3rd Heat- Clint DeMoss, Brent Londeree, Troy Burton, Greg Lee
4th Heat- Matt Boknecht, John DeMoss, Vernon Soeder, John Davis
1st Consy- Alan Magner, Earl Plessinger, Josh Lucas, Brad Sturgeon, Dave Benham
2nd Consy- Adam Sasser, Murl Robinson, Matt Tiller, Alan Adams, Eddie Kindred
Feature- Gilpin, Darren Davis, John DeMoss, Boknecht, Clint DeMoss, Gingery, Sasser, Londeree, Joe Godsey, Levi Godsey, Magner, Prince, John Davis, Soeder, Lee, Wilson, Burton, Robinson, Plessinger, Barrow

Bombers(53 cars)
1st Heat- Darren Crawhorn, Matt Cummings, Bubba Woods, Jamie Wilson
2nd Heat- Jeff Helton, Ray Godsey, Jr., Robert Walters, Dan Sallee
3rd Heat- Robert Green, Josh Hayes, Roger Reichenbacker, Mike Seal
4th Heat- Matt Bex, John Phelps, Charlie Stevens, Ben Baker
5th Heat- Darrell Burton, Tim Clark, Greg Hicks, Bret Ezzo
1st Consy- Jamie Wilson, Mark Bowling, Dan Sallee, Tim Neal, Glen Woods
2nd Consy- Mike Seal, Jennifer Johnson, Baker, Mickey Hines, Tony Mahoney
Feature- Bex, Woods, Cummings, Burton, Godsey, Jr., Crawhorn, Walters, Phelps, Wilson, Reichenbacker,
Stevens, Green, Hayes, Hicks, Baker, Johnson, Sallee, Seal, Helton, Clark (DQ)