Mike Jewell Tops in Awesome Aisin/Banner Classic

Brownstown, IN-July 1- Aisin USA Manufacturing and The Jackson County Banner presented the Aisin/Banner Classic Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway and the action could be described in one simple word-AWESOME! Mike Jewell of Scottsburg, IN picked up his third win of the year at Brownstown by winning the Late Model feature, while Vernon Soeder of Louisville, KY scored his first-ever UMP Modified feature win at Brownstown Speedway, with Robert Walters of Bedford, IN capturing his second Bomber feature of the year.

The Late Model feature would see the young gun duo of Steven Godsey and Cale Kern bring the field down to start the 25 lap affair that would be run caution-free. Current track point leader Godsey would take the initial lead, with Kern, Jewell, Mark Bechelli, and Mark Barber giving chase. Lap 2 saw what would begin a race-long side-by-side duel between Godsey and Kern develop, with Kern nosing his mount out in front by a mere car length on lap 5, while Barber would grab the fourth slot on the same lap. The duel for the lead continued to keep the race fans on the edge of their seats with the duo again racing door-to-door for the top spot, with Godsey again grabbing the lead for the moment on lap 8. These two would trade the lead at various points around the 1/4 mile oval that had turned to the familiar shiny black-ice surface that allowed the racers to use every inch of the racing surface. By the halfway point, Jewell had reeled the lead pair and began to make his presence known and turned the race for the lead into a three-way dance for the top spot. On lap 15, Jewell began to inch his mount closer to Godsey and Kern, with notions of making it three-wide for the lead, but electing to follow in Kern's tracks. Lap 17 would see Kern resume the point, but one lap later, Godsey and Jewell would fan out on both sides of Kern and make the battle for the lead three-wide, with Jewell tip-toeing around the topside of the black ice to take the lead on lap 21, while at the same time, Scott Smith had sneaked by Bechelli for the fourth spot. Jewell's MPC Motorsports, Morgan Fine Foods, Southern Indiana Rock Drilling, Jewell TV, LaFountain's Body Shop, Scott Co. Tire, Adams Fabricating #9 MasterSbilt would take the checkered flag first, with Godsey trailing in the runner-up slot. Smith would scoot by Kern on the final lap for third as he had joined the front three with two laps remaining. Mark Bechelli would come home fifth, with Barber, Dick Phillips, Marty O'Neal, Dan Sturgeon, and Scotty Earl completing the top ten.

In the UMP Modified feature, Vernon Soeder would hold off a hard-charging Adam Sasser to grab his first-ever Modified win at Brownstown in the 20 lap main event for the open-wheelers. Soeder led all but one lap of the event in his P.J. Delivery Service, TrackDoctor #25 W.T. Harris Race Car. Sasser would finish in second with Alan Magner, Darren Davis, and John DeMoss completing the top five positions. The quintet of Earl Plessinger, John Davis, Joe Godsey, Matt Boknecht, and Brent Londeree rounded out the top ten.

The 15 lap Bomber feature would see Robert Walters lead the entire distance and grab his second win of the season at Brownstown in his Terry Cummings Race Engines, EXCEL by Mike Terry #71 Hobbs Chassis entry. Matt Bex would make a last lap pass of Matt Cummings to take the second spot at the finish, while Bubba Woods and Terrence Johnson rounded out the first five. Completing the top ten were Willie Sallee, Ray Godsey, Jr., Larry Harris, Corey Southern, and John Phelps.

SUMMARY-Brownstown Speedway-Brownstown, Indiana-July 1, 2000

Late Models(32 entries)
Top Qualifier- Ernie Barrow 15.873
1st Heat- Steven Godsey, Scott Smith, Brad Barrow, Ernie Barrow
2nd Heat- Cale Kern, Dusty Chapman, Denny Bailey, Tim Prince
3rd Heat- Mike Jewell, Mark Bechelli, Dan Sturgeon, Scotty Earl
4th Heat- Mark Barber, Marty O'Neal, Dick Phillips, Gary Barrow
1st Consy- Jeff Mounce, Mike Bechelli, Frankie Coomer, Dennis Boknecht, Marty Thompson
2nd Consy- Reece Riggle, Doug Ault, A.J. Bingham, John Finn, Todd McKinney
Feature- Jewell, Godsey, Smith, Kern, Mark Bechelli, Barber, Phillips, O'Neal, Sturgeon, Earl, Ernie
Barrow, Brad Barrow, Mounce, Mike Bechelli, Gary Barrow, Riggle, Prince, Ault, Bailey, Chapman

UMP Modifieds(41 entries)
Top Qualifier- Alan Magner
1st Heat- Vernon Soeder, Magner, Murl Robinson, Greg Lee
2nd Heat- Adam Sasser, Earl Plessinger, John Davis, Nelson Gingery
3rd Heat- Doug St. Meyers, Steve Trabue, Joe Godsey, Levi Godsey
4th Heat- Darren Davis, John DeMoss, Troy Burton, Eddie Kindred
1st Consy- Brent Londeree, Clint DeMoss, Todd Gilpin, Gary Barrow, Alan Adams
2nd Consy- Matt Boknecht, Brad Erwin, Brandon Reed, Jay Miller, Steve Walp
Feature- Soeder, Sasser, Magner, Darren Davis, John DeMoss, Plessinger, John Davis, Joe Godsey,
Boknecht, Londeree, Gingery, Levi Godsey, Kindred, Lee, Robinson, Burton, Trabue, St. Meyers, Erwin

Bombers(52 entries)
1st Heat- Robert Walters, Terrence Johnson, Greg Benton, John Phelps
2nd Heat- Bubba Woods, Corey Southern, Jim Ruddick, Sam Chastain
3rd Heat- Willie Sallee, Matt Bex, Josh Turner, Greg Hicks
4th Heat- Matt Cummings, Paul Ortman, Larry Harris, Mike Burch
5th Heat- Ray Godsey, Jr., Ben Burton, Charlie Stevens, Tony Mahoney
1st Consy- Chastain, Phelps, Steve Maynard, Jerry Maynard, Tim Neal
2nd Consy- Glen Woods, Hicks, Dave Eagan, Jennifer Johnson, Jamie Wilson
Feature- Walters, Bex, Cummings, Bubba Woods, Terrence Johnson, Sallee, Godsey, Jr., Harris, Southern,
Phelps, Ruddick, Burton, Turner, Hicks, Glen Woods, Steve Maynard, Eagan, Ortman, Benton, Stevens,