Gilpin and Busch Victorious on "Open-Wheel Thursday"

Brownstown, IN-July 27- It was "Open-Wheel Thursday" at the 2000 Jackson County Fair at Brownstown
Speedway and Todd Gilpin of Columbus, IN topped a stellar field of 51 entries to capture his third win of the
year by taking the 25 lap UMP Modified feature race. The AMSA Mini-Sprints were also on hand with 22
entries and Tom Busch of Bedford, IN captured the 20 lap feature for the winged warriors.

The UMP Modified feature saw outside polesitter Brad Erwin jump to the lead and hold that spot
uncontested for 18 laps until Todd Gilpin chased him down. This duo would then race side-by-side for the
lead the next five six circuits until Gilpin nosed past Erwin for good exiting turn two on the final lap. Gilpin
drove the Grass Luvers Inc., Terry's VCR, River City Trucking, Hardintown Towing, Steve's Wrecker
Service, Smith's Masonry #32 Brand X Chassis to the win with Erwin taking second two car lengths behind,
while Adam Sasser finished third. Steve Trabue and John DeMoss would complete the top five. Rounding
out the top ten were Don O'Neal, Nelson Gingery, Lee Hobbs, first consy winner Josh Lucas, and Alan

The AMSA Mini-Sprint feature would come down to a two-car battle between Tom Busch and David Waltman as this pair traded the lead on numerous occasions during the final ten laps of the race, with Busch winning a one lap shootout to grab the win. Busch, who is the current series point leader, drove his Busch Monuments #4 entry to win over Waltman. Dan Brettnacher, Kevin Rice, and Curt Trainer rounded out the top five. Positions six through ten would fall to Mark Newman, Kenny Haynes, Ronnie Brettnacher, David Eichenberger, and Terry Ahern.

SUMMARY-Brownstown Speedway-Brownstown, IN-July 27, 2000
UMP Modifieds
Top Qualifer- Don O'Neal 15.961
1st Heat- Steve Trabue, O'Neal, Alan Magner, Joey Kramer
2nd Heat- Brad Erwin, Adam Sasser, David McWilliams, Josh Lucas
3rd Heat- Todd Gilpin, Brent Londeree, Lee Hobbs, Mike Bowersox
4th Heat- Darren Davis, John DeMoss, Brad Barrow, Bret Barr
5th Heat- Donnie Fleetwood, Nelson Gingery, Matt Boknecht, Levi Godsey
1st Consy- Lucas, Daryl Herbert, Godsey, Kramer, Bob Schrader
2nd Consy- Bowersox, Ray Humphrey, Earl Plessinger, Bill Wagner, Clint DeMoss
Feature- Gilpin, Erwin, Sasser, Trabue, DeMoss, O'Neal, Gingery, Hobbs, Lucas, Magner, Humphrey,
Boknecht, Godsey, McWilliams, Londeree, Fleetwood, Bowersox, Barrow, Herbert, Davis, Plessinger

AMSA Mini-Sprints
1st Heat- David Waltman, Dan Brettnacher, Kenny Haynes, Ronnie Brettnacher
2nd Heat- Tom Busch, Curt Trainer, Tim Ewers, Kevin Rice
3rd Heat- Larry Bland, Eric Edwards, Scott Williams, Boyd Wolf
Feature- Busch, Waltman, Dan Brettnacher, Rice, Trainer, Mark Newman, Kenny
Haynes, Ronnie Brettnacher, David Eichenberger, Terry Ahern, Josh Walker, Wolf, Williams,
Eddie Lake, Jeff Scott, Edwards, Brandon Watson, Bland, Ewers, Craig Eaglin