Barber, Boknecht, and Woods Star at Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN-August 19, 2000- Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway was DB's Satellite and Electronics Night and the "stars" of the show were Mark Barber in Late Models, Matt Boknecht in UMP Modifieds, and Bubba Woods in the Bombers.

The 25 lap Late Model main event saw polesitter C.J. Rayburn jump to the point, with Ernie Barrow trailing, followed by Mark Barber, Gary Burton, and Mike Bechelli. Caution would wave with one lap scored as Mike Jewell looped his mount over the banking in turn one. The restart would see Barber go by Barrow for the runner-up slot as Greg Ault would bring out the second caution as he went into the spin-cycle in the exact same place Jewell had as the field worked lap 3. Rayburn would again lead the charge on the restart, with Barber and Burton now putting the heat on "Bud" as the field worked lap 5. Burton would show his hand early as the rookie Late Model pilot would step his mount to the topside and would go from third to first with a pass of Rayburn and Barber as the trio exited turn four on lap 6. Barber would keep the pressure on Rayburn as would snatch the second spot with a turn three pass on lap 8. Burton was now beginning to stretch his lead a bit over Barber, as Dick Phillips was now contending for the fifth spot as he battled with Mike Bechelli, with Phillips breaking into the top five on lap 14. The leaders would catch heavy traffic in the form of backmarkers on lap 15, allowing Barber to close right up on the decklid of Burton. Lap 16 would see the pair go side-by-side for the lead, with Barber hooking Burton behind a lapped car to take the lead on lap 17. Phillips was also on the move as he had chased down fourth place running Barrow and those two began to duel for fourth, as Barber began to slowly pull away from the field at the point. The final caution would wave with three circuits remaining when Bryan Barber got into turn three a bit too hard and looped his entry. The restart would see Mark Barber again pull away and see the checkered flag
first to get his second career win at Brownstown in the Late Model ranks and his first here since April 20, 1996. The North Vernon, IN native drove the Bill Davis owned, Biehle Electric, Davis Machine #00 MasterSbilt, HP-powered entry to the win, with Burton earning his career best Late Model finish by taking second. Rayburn would come home third, with Phillips making a white-flag lap pass of Barrow to garner fourth. Fast
qualifier Tim Prince would lead the second five at the finish, followed by points leader Steven Godsey, Mike Bechelli, Dan Sturgeon, and Marty O'Neal.

The 20 lap UMP Modified feature would see Matt Boknecht of Seymour, IN take the lead on lap 7 and hold off the challenges of Nelson Gingery and rim-riding Earl Plessinger to grab his second win of the year at Brownstown. Boknecht, who is the track point leader for the
open-wheelers, drove his George's of Seymour, Indiana State Excise Police #22 entry to the winner finish line first with Gingery second and Plessinger third. Youngster Clint DeMoss would take fourth, with Vernon Soeder coming home in fifth. Completing the top ten were Steve Trabue, Mike Bowersox, Brad Erwin, Adam Sasser, and fast qualifier Darren Davis.

The 15 lap Bomber division feature saw Bubba Woods of Bedford, IN take the lead from early race leader Jim Ruddick with 6 laps remaining and survive a late race caution to grab his second career win at Brownstown and his first of 2000 here. Trailing Woods' Bailey's Flowers and Gifts, Lawrence County Hydraulics, Jerry Arthur Paving, Cummings Race Engines #00 Performer Chassis at the finish was Matt Bex, with Robert Walters a close third. Ruddick would hang on to finish fourth, with Larry Harris completing the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Tony Mahoney, Charlie Stevens, first consy winner and 19th starting Jennifer Johnson, John Phelps, and Ben Burton.

SUMMARY-Brownstown Speedway-Brownstown, Indiana-August 19, 2000
Late Models (30 entries)
Top Qualifier- Tim Prince 15.224
1st Heat- C.J. Rayburn, Gary Burton, Mike Jewell, Prince
2nd Heat- Mark Barber, Mike Bechelli, Bryan Barber, Mark Bechelli
3rd Heat- Ernie Barrow, Dick Phillips, Marty O'Neal, Steven Godsey
Consy- Tory Collins, Todd McKinney, B.J. McCammon, Greg Ault, Denny Bailey
Feature- Mark Barber, Burton, Rayburn, Phillips, Barrow, Prince, Godsey, Mike Bechelli, Dan Sturgeon, O'Neal, Mark Bechelli, Jewell, McKinney, Reece Riggle, Frankie Coomer, Ault, Bailey, McCammon, Bryan Barber, Collins

UMP Modifieds (46 entries)
Top Qualifier- Darren Davis 16.688
1st Heat- Brent Londeree, Earl Plessinger, Davis, Levi Godsey
2nd Heat- Todd Gilpin, Nelson Gingery, Jody Ireland, Jay Miller
3rd Heat- Matt Boknecht, Brad Erwin, Adam Sasser, Eddie Kindred
4th Heat- Clint DeMoss, Mike Bowersox, Steve Trabue, Vernon Soeder
1st Consy- Brad Sturgeon, Murl Robinson, Bob Schrader, Josh Lucas, Tony Jarvis
2nd Consy- Greg Beem, Alan Magner, Jason Underwood, Don Parsons, Joe Wilson
Feature- Boknecht, Gingery, Plessinger, DeMoss, Soeder, Trabue, Bowersox, Erwin, Sasser, Davis, Magner, Sturgeon, Londeree, Miller, Robinson, Beem, Kindred, Ireland, Gilpin, Godsey

Bombers (57 entries)
1st Heat- Ray Godsey, Jr., Tony Mahoney, Mickey Hines, Paul Ortman
2nd Heat- Jim Ruddick, Larry Harris, Roger Reichenbacker, Dave Robinson
3rd Heat- Bubba Woods, Charlie Stevens, Troy Clark, Mike Bryant
4th Heat- Robert Walters, Ben Burton, Glen Woods, Greg Benton
5th Heat- John Phelps, Greg Hicks, Tim Neal, Ray Weston
6th Heat- Matt Bex, Josh Turner, Mark Hines, Dave Eagan
1st Consy- Jennifer Johnson, Dan Sallee, Paul Owens, Josh Hayes, Jim Pfieffer
2nd Consy- Benton, Eagan, Robert Green, Jamie Wilson, Jeremy Blackwood
Feature- Bubba Woods, Bex, Walters, Ruddick, Harris, Mahoney, Stevens, Johnson, Phelps, Burton, Sallee, Turner, Benton, Godsey, Jr., Glen Woods, Mark Hines, Eagan, Hicks, Neal, Reichenbacker, Clark, Mickey Hines