Johnson, Hines, and Ruddick Fastest at Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN-August 26, 2000- Persistent afternoon rain showers saw the race program start delayed about two hours on Saturday evening, but the wait was well worth it as the tricky 1/4 mile semi-banked oval ascended into an arena of glue and made for some fast and furious action on Sunoco Fast-Max Night at Brownstown Speedway. Track promoter Richard Bane and the entire staff would like to thank all the drivers that were present for helping wheel-pack the track in an effort to get the racing surface race-ready.

The 25 lap Late Model feature saw the front row pair of Greg Johnson and Mark Barber swap the lead three times on lap 1 before a spin in turn four by Gary Barrow would void the initial start. The second attempted start would also see the field get a do-over as Tim Prince parked his mount sideways in turn three. The third time would be the charm with Barber grabbing the point, with Johnson, Steven Godsey, Ernie Barrow, and James Huff in tow. Huff would snatch fourth on lap 2, only to have Barrow regain the spot one lap later. Barber would hold the lead until lap 6 when he slid high exiting turn two, opening the door for Johnson to make a pass. The duo would race into turn three side-by-side with Johnson able to clear Barber for the lead off of turn four. Ernie Barrow and Huff had now settled into a battle for the fourth spot, with Huff finally securing the position for good on lap 10. By lap 15, Johnson had lengthened his lead over Barber, while Huff had chased down third place Godsey and began to pressure the track point leader for third. Johnson would catch a pack of slower traffic on lap 18 and this allowed Barber to begin to reel in the race leader, with Huff now turning up the heat on Godsey for third. Barber's chase to catch Johnson would end when last week's winner would run out of laps as Johnson would park the C.W. Watson Excavating #4 C.J. Rayburn Race Car in victory lane for the second time in 2000 at Brownstown. Barber's charge would see him settle for the runner-up spot, with Huff getting by Godsey on the last lap in turn two after Godsey and a lapped car made contact in turn two. Veteran Ernie Barrow would complete the top five. Tenth starting Frankie Coomer would finish sixth, while 20th place starting Johnny Wheeler would charge to seventh at the finish. Tory Collins would go eighth, with 17th place starting Todd McKinney grabbing ninth, and veteran Dusty Chapman would complete the top ten after starting 19th.

The 20 lap Indiana Super Stock feature was the Rick Hines show as he would lead all 20 laps to gain his first win at Brownstown this season. The Seymour, IN native would drive his George's of Seymour, Pendleton Excavating, Terry Schepman Enterprises #15 NightCrawler Race Car to the checkered flag first with Greg O'Neill taking second place honors and Mike Fields coming home in the third spot. Jay Deckard and Randy Petro would finish fourth and fifth respectively. Veteran Brad Cummings would lead the second five at the finish followed by Greg Kendall,
Joe Johnson, Kevin Jones, and Nelson Gingery.

The 15 lap Bomber division feature would see Jim Ruddick of Seymour, IN capture his first feature win of 2000 at Brownstown by leading the event flag-to-flag after several near-misses of victory lane this season. The veteran pilot would drive his C and O Auto Parts, Johnie Cain Carpet Service, KMI Race Engines #0 NightCrawler Race Car to the win holding off a last lap charge by Ray Godsey, Jr. Greg Benton would finish third, with Matt Cummings and first consy winner Robert Walters completing the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Bubba Woods, Josh Turner, Charlie Stevens, Tony Mahoney, and John Phelps.

SUMMARY-Brownstown Speedway-Brownstown, Indiana-August 26, 2000
Late Models
Top Qualifier- Greg Johnson
1st Heat- Johnson, Ernie Barrow, Tim Prince, Frankie Coomer
2nd Heat- Mark Barber, Dennis Boknecht, James Huff, John Finn
3rd Heat- Steven Godsey, Mark Bechelli, Gary Barrow, Mike Bechelli
Consy- Greg Ault, Todd McKinney, Denny Bailey, Dusty Chapman, Johnny Wheeler
Feature- Johnson, Barber, Huff, Godsey, Ernie Barrow, Coomer, Wheeler, Tory Collins, McKinney, Chapman, Mark Bechelli, Denny Bailey, Bill Workman, Mike Bechelli, Finn, Ault, Dallas Bailey, Prince, Boknecht, Gary Barrow

Indiana Super Stocks
Top Qualifier- Rick Hines
1st Heat- Hines, Tim Clark, Randy Moore, Kevin Jones
2nd Heat- Greg O'Neill, Mike Fields, Jay Deckard, Brad Cummings
3rd Heat- Keith Deppe, Greg Kendall, Donnie Wilson, Randy Petro
Feature- Hines, O'Neill, Fields, Deckard, Petro, Cummings, Kendall, Johnson, Jones, Nelson Gingery, Wilson, J.D. Roberts, Brian Burton, Calvin Gibson, Ray Weston, Kevin Arthur, Clark, Craig Deweese, Jason Hehman, Moore, Merrill Wilson

1st Heat- Mickey Hines, David Reichenbacker, Jim Pfieffer, Ben Burton
2nd Heat- Jim Ruddick, Tony Mahoney, Matt Bex, Bubba Woods
3rd Heat- Larry Harris, Greg Benton, Charlie Stevens, Josh Turner
4th Heat- Ray Godsey, Jr., Matt Cummings, Jerry Maynard, John Phelps
1st Consy- Robert Walters, Mike Seal, Jamie Wilson, Tim Neal, Jim Holman
2nd Consy- Rick Applegate, Paul Owens, Josh Hayes, Dave Eagen, Bill Lucas
Feature- Ruddick, Godsey,Jr., Benton, Cummings, Walters, Woods, Turner, Stevens, Mahoney, Phelps, Owens, Bex, Seal, Burton, Applegate, Hines, Maynard, Harris, Pfieffer