Claycomb Becomes 7th Different Feature Winner at Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN-May 12, 2001- Kevin Claycomb of Vincennes, IN became the seventh different Late Model feature winner of the 2001 season Saturday night in action at Brownstown Speedway. For Claycomb, it was his first win at Brownstown since winning the 1999 Kenny Simpson Memorial race and his 11th career win at Brownstown. Other racing action saw Matt Boknecht of Seymour, IN take his third UMP Modified feature of the season, while Bubba Woods of Bedford, IN scored his fourth Bomber feature of the year.

Claycomb would take the lead at the start of the 25 lap, $2,000 to win chase, followed by Brett Davis, Ernie Barrow, Tory Collins, and Mark Barber. The first of four cautions would wave on lap 2 as Tim Prince spun his entry exiting turn two. Back under green, Claycomb would quickly begin to put some distance between himself and the rest of the field. Davis continued to hold second, while the action for third heated up as Collins, Barrow, and Barber waged war for third, allowing their three-way dance to go three-wide all the way around the track on lap 6, before Barber took control of third, with Collins and Barrow now fourth and fifth. Barber would quickly chase down Davis and would take the runner-up slot with a turn three pass on lap 10. At this point, the attention turned to the seven car battle that had shaped up for the fourth position. This was vintage hardcore Brownstown action as Collins, Davis, and Barrow would go three-wide for third on lap 13, with Dan Sturgeon, Mark Bechelli, Jim Curry, and Dick Phillips making it four-wide for a moment for sixth on the same circuit. Fate would deal Bechelli a bad hand once again as he would slide over the banking in turn two as the field worked lap 16, triggering the caution flag. Barber had began to reel in Claycomb at the point, so this bunched the field up for a single-file restart. The restart would see carnage in turn two as Scott Smith, Shawn Negangard, Joe Godsey, and Frankie Coomer all getting caught up in the spin-cycle, with everyone able to restart. Claycomb would have Barber glued to his bumper on the restart, with Collins, Phillips, and Curry in tow. Caution would fly again on lap 18 as Dan Sturgeon stalled in turn four and he and another car made contact in turn four on the previous lap. The final restart set up a seven lap dash to the finish, as Claycomb and Barber made it a two car battle for the win. Phillips and Collins got it on for third after the restart, battling side-by-side on laps 19 and 20, with Curry also joining in on the battle on lap 20 to make it three-wide for third. Phillips would take third on lap 21, only to see Curry take the spot on lap 22. As the field got the two lap to go signal, Barber showed Claycomb his hand down in turn one and again getting off of turn four coming to the white flag. Claycomb would hold off Barber and grab the win by one car length in the Prestige Auto Sales, Tri-State Racing Equipment, Gaerte Race Engines, AFCO, VP Fuels, Wilwood Brakes, Brinn Transmissions #28 GRT Race Car entry. Barber would go second, with ninth place starter Curry and eleventh place starter Phillips taking third and fourth. Steven Godsey would make a final lap pass of Collins to take fifth. Collins would come sixth, with 19th starting Marty O’Neal seventh. C.J. Rayburn would go eighth, with Tim Prince recovering from his lap 2 spin to march back to ninth, while 15th starting Doug Ault grabbed tenth. Thirty-nine Late Models were in attendance for the race, with heat wins going to Claycomb, Davis, Barber, and Barrow. The B-mains were topped by Bob Lanter and Joe Godsey.

Matt Boknecht would stave off the charges of John DeMoss over the final five circuits to take a caution-filled UMP Modified feature race event. The win was the third of the year for Boknecnt at Brownstown, as he is also the current point leader for the class at the track. The win for Boknecht came aboard his George’s of Seymour, HMF Steel Sales, DeWalt Tools #22 Fly-By-U Race Cars mount. John DeMoss would go second, with Darren Davis looking very impressive in grabbing third. Todd Gilpin and Adam Sasser would complete the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Levi Godsey, 20th place starter Rusty Smiley, Richie Lex, Jason Hehman, and 17th place starter Clint DeMoss. Thirty-four of the UMP Modifieds were on hand, with heats being scored by Boknecht, Lex, Justin Blackwell, and Gilpin. The B-mains were won by Clint DeMoss and Dale Hobbs.

The Bomber feature would once again be a real crowd pleaser and the duo of Bubba Woods and Matt Bex battled down to the final lap, with Woods coming away with a half-car length victory over Bex behind the wheel of his Bailey’s Flowers and Gifts, Jerry Arthur Paving, Antique Auto Race Car Museum, Tucker Transmissions #00 Performer Chassis, Terry Cummings powered Monte Carlo. Bex would go second, with Robert Walters taking third. Charlie Stevens and Jim Ruddick completed the top five. Rick Applegate would head up the second five, followed by Bobby Davis, 1st B-main winner Ben Burton, 2nd B-main winner Roger Reichenbacker, and Andrew Davis. Forty-five Bombers signed in for action, with heats going to Woods, Ruddick, Walters, Clifton Barron, and Bex.

Coming this Saturday night, May 19, the 17th Annual Kenny Simpson Memorial takes place featuring the Northern All-Star Late Model Series racing in a 40 lap, $3,000 to win NALMS points event. Also on the card will be Super Stocks and Bombers.

SUMMARY-Brownstown Speedway-Brownstown, Indiana-May 12, 2001

Late Models (39 entries)

Top Qualifier- Marty O’Neal 15.458

1st Heat- Kevin Claycomb, Steven Godsey, Jim Curry, Tim Prince

2nd Heat- Brett Davis, Tory Collins, Shawn Negangard, Frankie Coomer

3rd Heat- Mark Barber, Dan Sturgeon, Dick Phililps, Doug Ault

4th Heat- Ernie Barrow, Scott Smith, Mark Bechelli, C.J. Rayburn

1st B Main- Bob Lanter, Marty O’Neal, John Sizemore, A.J. Bingham, Greg Ault

2nd B Main- Joe Godsey, Jay Mobley, Todd McKinney, Brad Barrow, Cale Kern

Feature- Claycomb, Barber, Curry, Phillips, Steven Godsey, Collins, O’Neal, Rayburn, Prince, Doug Ault, Davis, Smith, Joe Godsey, Ernie Barrow, Mobley, Negangard, Lanter, Sturgeon, Coomer, Bechelli

UMP Modifieds (34 entries)

1st Heat- Matt Boknecht, Darren Davis, Jason Hehman, Brad Sturgeon

2nd Heat- Richie Lex, John DeMoss, Levi Godsey, J.D. Roberts

3rd Heat- Justin Blackwell, Jason Sims, Butch Shay, Jerry Crane

4th Heat- Todd Gilpin, Adam Sasser, Jay Miller, Vernon Soeder

1st B Main- Clint DeMoss, Mike Bowersox, Don Parsons, Bryan Corbin, Jesse Cramer

2nd B Main- Dale Hobbs, Rusty Smiley, Cully Chapman, Charlie Phillips, Roy Ritter

Feature- Boknecht, John DeMoss, Davis, Gilpin, Sasser, Godsey, Smiley, Lex, Hehman, Clint DeMoss, Soeder, Bowersox, Roberts, Hobbs, Shay, Blackwell, Crane, Miller, Sturgeon, Sims

Bombers (45 entries)

1st Heat- Bubba Woods, Andrew Davis, Cody Vanosdol, Josh Turner

2nd Heat- Jim Ruddick, Rick Applegate, Jerry Maynard, Ben Burton

3rd Heat- Robert Walters, Matt Cummings, Sam Chastain, Greg Benton

4th Heat- Clifton Barron, Ray Godsey, Jr., Josh Hayes, Dave Robinson

5th Heat- Matt Bex, Charlie Stevens, Bobby Davis, Matt Jacobs

B Main Winners- Burton, Roger Reichenbacker

Feature- Woods, Bex, Walters, Stevens, Ruddick, Applegate, Bobby Davis, Burton, Reichenbacker, Andrew Davis, Mickey Hines, Maynard, Turner, Paul Owens, Vanosdol, Robinson