Barrow, Ruddick, and Hines Take Top Honors in Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN-July 14- Ernie Barrow of Bloomington, IN became the 11th different Late Model feature winner at Brownstown Speedway in 2001 by taking the 25 lap main event on Saturday evening. Other division winners included Jim Ruddick of Seymour, IN picking up his fourth Bomber feature win of the year, while Jeremy Hines of Seymour, IN picked up his first Super Stock feature win of the year at Brownstown.

The Late Model feature saw Eldora Million runner-up Steve Smith jump to the lead with Ernie Barrow, Mark Barber, Gary Burton, and Dan Sturgeon giving chase. Sturgeon would go to fourth on lap two, while John Gill would slide into the top five also after starting in eighth. One lap later, Gill would pass Sturgeon in turn three for the fourth position. Smith and Barrow would continue their battle up front as that pair, along with Barber, began to distance themselves a bit from the rest of the field. Doug McCammon was now on Sturgeon for the fifth spot and the Illinois veteran would grab the position from Sturgeon on lap 7. Meanwhile, Barrow turned the wick up of his challenge of Smith for the lead, as the pair would go side-by-side for the lead on lap 10. Lap 13 would see Barrow get the break he needed as Smith would slip in turn two, allowing Barrow to clear Smith for the lead getting into turn three. Barber would now move up to Smith to challenge him for the runner-up spot, with the pair going door-to-door on lap 15 for the spot. Disaster would strike Barber's charge for second when he looped his mount in turn four attempting to pass Smith for the spot, bringing out the caution flag. Back under the green flag, C.J. Rayburn was now putting the heat on Sturgeon for fifth, while Barrow began to pull away once again on the field. Gill was now battling with Smith for the second spot as the field got the five lap to go signal. Barrow would continue to motor away from the field and saw the checkered flag first in the Vernon Fleetwood owned Rural Water Valley Maintenance, Fleetwood Excavating, KH Signs and Graphics #57 C.J. Rayburn Race Cars, FoxCo Race Engines entry. In a photo finish for second, Gill would nip Smith at the finish line for the runner-up spot. McCammon and Sturgeon would complete the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Rayburn, Burton, Steven Godsey, 19th starting Joe Godsey, and Tim Prince. Twenty-eight Late Models were on hand with heats going to Barrow, Smith, and Barber, while Derek Ramp won the B-main.

The Bomber feature saw Jim Ruddick start from the pole position and lead all 15 laps of the Bomber main event. Ruddick scored his fourth win of the year behind the wheel of his Johnnie Cain Carpet Sales, C and O Auto Parts, Kar Kwik Muffler Shop #0 NightCrawler Race Cars entry. Points leader Matt Bex would nip Bubba Woods at the finish for second, while Matt Cummings and Robert Walters completed the top five. Robert Green would head up the second five followed by Darrell Burton, Roger Reichenbacker, Paul Owens, and Glen Woods. Thirty-four Bombers in attendance saw heats won by Ruddick, Cummings, and Bubba Woods, while Jamie Wilson captured the B-main.

The Super Stock saw proud new father Jeremy Hines take his first win at Brownstown behind the wheel of the Rick Hines owned George's of Seymour, Green Barn Cutlery, Mike Roll Enterprises #5H NightCrawler Race Cars mount. Brad Cumming would take runner-up honors for the evening, with Mike Fields, Jay Deckard, and Rick Hines round out the top five. Completing the top ten were Greg O'Neill, Stan Brown, Gary Green, Steve Hunt, and Don Barnett. Twenty-three Super Stocks signed in for the event with heat wins scored by Jeremy Hines, Cummings, and Green, with Kevin Jones winning the B-main.

SUMMARY-Brownstown Speedway-Brownstown, IN-July 14, 2001

LATE MODELS (28 entries)

Top Qualifier- Doug Ault 16.417

1st Heat- Ernie Barrow, Gary Burton, Steven Godsey, Ault

2nd Heat- Steve Smith, Dan Sturgeon, John Gill, C.J. Rayburn

3rd Heat- Mark Barber, Doug McCammon, Tim Prince, A.J. Bingham

B-Main: Derek Ramp, Todd McKinney, Dusty Chapman, Joe Godsey,Rick Sowders

Feature- Barrow, Gill, Smith, McCammon, Sturgeon, Rayburn, Burton, Steven Godsey, Joe Godsey, Prince, Ault, Barber, Shannon Reed, McKinney, Ramp, Bingham, Billy Dever, A.J. Bowlen, Chapman, Sowders

BOMBERS (34 entries)

1st Heat- Jim Ruddick, Robert Walters, Matt Bex, Josh Turner

2nd Heat- Matt Cummings, Darrell Burton, Robert Green, Dave Robinson

3rd Heat- Bubba Woods, Roger Reichenbacker, Dave Lemons, Glen Woods

B-Main: Jamie Wilson, Ryan Wells, Deric Wells, Tim Neal, Jim Pfieffer

Feature- Ruddick, Bex, Bubba Woods, Cummings, Walters, Green, Burton, Reichenbacker, Paul Owens, Glen Woods, Jerry Maynard, Wilson, Turner, Lemons, Pfieffer, Deric Wells, Neal, Robinson, Josh Cash, Ryan Wells

SUPER STOCKS (23 entries)

1st Heat- Jeremy Hines, Jay Deckard, Don Barnett, Steve Hunt

2nd Heat- Brad Cummings, Mike Fields, Stan Brown, Denny Campbell

3rd Heat- Gary Green, Greg O'Neill, Rick Hines, Randy Moore

B-Main: Kevin Jones, Barry Gerkin, Raymond Burton, Geoff Strange, Deb Freisner

Feature- Jeremy Hines, Cummings, Fields, Deckard, Rick Hines, O'Neill, Brown, Green, Hunt, Barnett, Randy Moore, Paul Seymour, Gerkin, Strange, Freisner, Burton, Kevin Jones, Flipper Jones, Campbell, Danny Moore