Barber, Deckard, Ruddick Winners

BROWNSTOWN, Ind.; May 24,2003 -- Mark Barber of North Vernon, Indiana took home his second consecutive feature victory at the Brownstown Speedway in one of the best features of the past few years.

The 25 lap feature started off with a yellow, as Barber and Greg Ault would tangle in turn four. The field would line up once more and try it one more time with Frankie Coomer leading them to the stripe. Scott Graham would take the lead coming down the backstretch, with Coomer sliding back by for the point coming out of turn four to lead lap one. Coomer and Graham would run side by side once again going down the backchute on the second circuit. Behind them, Barber and Brad Barrow would go at it for the third position, with Barrow taking the spot. Barber would not sit in fourth for long, as he would get right back around Barrow for the third position. Next up on the Barber barrage was Graham, as he would move to the inside of Graham and go by him coming out of turn four on lap four. Behind them, Barrow would lose his fourth position to Dan Sturgeon coming out of the same corner. Just a couple of laps later, Barber would close in on Coomer and pull up just alongside of him with a three wide battle for the third spot taking place behind them. Graham, Sturgeon, and Barrow would take the third place down the backstretch, with Barrow and Sturgeon splitting Graham on lap number six. Sturgeon would then move by Barrow for the third position coming down the frontstretch. Barrow would move back alongside of Sturgeon and battle it out for the third spot. On lap number 11, Barrow would move to the top shelf and get around Sturgeon for the third position. Barrow would then move to the highside of Barber on the next circuit. They would run side by side down the backstretch until Barber would shoot underneath Coomer for the lead going into two. Coomer would withstand that challenge, and hold the lead down the backstretch. Barrow would stay on the highside, as he and Barber would make it a three wide battle for the lead with Coomer going into turn four. Barber would shoot a slide job on Coomer, taking the point down the frontstretch. Going into turn one, Barrow would ride the rim around both Barber and Coomer to take his lead for the first time on lap 12. Barber would settle in second, with Coomer third. Barrow and Barber would start to catch up to lap traffic coming down the backstretch on lap 15. Barber would shoot to the inside of Barrow coming out of turn four, and take the lead on lap number 17. Barrow would try the bottom on Barber for the point, but Barrow would not be able to make the move. Behind this battle, Sturgeon would take third place away from Coomer on the low side. Barber would open up a little bit of an advantage as he would put some lap cars between he and Barrow. As the field took the two laps to go signal, some battles would take place as Graham got around Coomer for fourth. Sturgeon would move up to battle Barrow on the last lap, making the move for second coming out of the final turn putting Barrow to third. Fourth would go to Coomer who got around Graham as well as Brad Cummings, putting Graham to sixth. Your official top five were Barber, Sturgeon, Barrow, Coomer, and Cummings. Mark Barber is sponsored by Tim Huddleston Trucking, Biehle Electric, Edge Collision Center, and Pizza Kingdom. Barber was piloting a MastersBilt Chassis to the victory

Jay Deckard of Brownstown, IN stayed perfect on the year, winning his fourth feature of the year in the Super Stock division. Deckard made the winning pass on Travis Howe on lap number six and never looked back en route to the feature victory. Deckard is sponsored by Mad Dog Motorsports, Cockerham’s Signs and Graphics, Scott Sales and Service, Computer Data Service, and Fine Line Window Tinting.

In the Bomber Division, Jim Ruddick broke his 2003 curse by taking the checkers in the Bomber division. Steve Godsey would take the early lead with Ruddick in tow. On the fourth circuit, Ruddick would make the pass for the lead coming out of turn four, and would go on to win the 15 lap Bomber feature. This was Ruddick's first victory of the 2003 season at the Brownstown Speedway. Ruddick is sponsored by Bedels Transmissions, Car Quick, KMI Engines, and C&O Auto Parts


TOP QUALIFIER: Mark Barber: 14.713

HEAT ONE: Frankie Coomer, Mark Barber, Adam Sasser, Steve Godsey, Jason Setser, Justin Blackwell, Derek Ramp, Brent Wilson, Brian Wilhite, Keith Deppe

HEAT TWO: Scott Graham, Brad Cummings, Shannon Reed, Cody Mahoney, Gary Hardin, AJ Bingham, John Dome, Tim Prince, Gary Trammell

HEAT THREE: Brad Barrow, Dan Sturgeon, Brad Sturgeon, Ernie Barrow, Rohn Moon, Greg Ault, Dusty Chapman, AJ Bowlen, Rick Burton


FEATURE: Mark Barber, Dan Sturgeon, Brad Barrow, Frankie Coomer, Brad Cummings, Scott Graham, Steve Godsey, Brad Sturgeon, Ernie Barrow, Adam Sasser, Cody Mahoney, Tim Prince, Rohn Moon, Justin Blackwell, Keith Deppe, Greg Ault, Shannon Reed, Gary Hardin, AJ Bingham, Jason Setser


HEAT ONE: Travis Howe, Mike Vest, Gerald Todd, Ben Dubois, Stan Brown, CJ Allen, Matt Ross, Jason Cosat, Terry Romans, Tony Arthur, Clay Ellison

HEAT TWO: Jay Deckard, Terry Arthur, Randy Moore, Kevin Applegate, Scott Ross, Paul Seymour, Chris Deweese

HEAT THREE: Gary Green, Todd Gilpin, Broc Burton, Jeff Walters, Mickey Hines, David Brewer, Dennis Reynoll, Ralph Groomer, Tom Ault, Donnie Wilson, Jason Hehman


FEATURE: Jay Deckard, Travis Howe, Gary Green, Michael Vest, Todd Gilpin, Kevin Applegate, Mickey Hines, Jeff Walters, Gerald Todd, Stan Brown, David Brewer, Scott Ross, Ben Dubois, CJ Allen, Paul Seymour, Ralph Groomer, Broc Burton, Randy Moore, Terry Arthur, Matt Ross


HEAT ONE: Jim Ruddick, Mike Burch, Rick Gess, Jim Pfeiffer, Robert Green, Brian Mitchell, Lloyd Turpin, Chad Plance, Larry Harris, Bobby Johnson, Jeff Renner

HEAT TWO: Darrell Burton, John Meyer, Josh Turner, Dan Londeree, Tim Neal, Jason Terrell, Robert Walters, Robbie Moore, JJ Peiffer, Jared Brewer

HEAT THREE: Rick Applegate, Dave Lemons, Jared Bailey, Josh Hayes, Larry Palmer, Eric Levesque, Jimmy Arthur, Brandon Routier, Jason Combs, Kent Wagner

HEAT FOUR: Steve Godsey, Matt Cummings, Bobby Davis, Rusty Smiley, Jeff McElfresh, Cole Burton, Craig Bailey, Doug Klyn

FEATURE: Jim Ruddick, Steve Godsey, Matt Cummings, Jason Combs, Mike Burch, Rick Applegate, Robert Walters, Josh Turner, John Meyer, Bobbby Davis, Glen Woods, Dan Londeree, Jim Pfeiffer, Jared Bailey, Josh Hayes, Tim Neal, Rick Gess, Dave Lemons, Rusty Smiley, Darrell Burton