Moon, Fields, Cummings in Feature Action

As Creedence Clearwater Revival would say...there was a "Bad Moon Rising" at the Brownstown Speedway Saturday Night, as Rohn Moon would take home his first career win in the Late Model division. In the Super Stock division, Mike Fields would cruise to victory, and Matt Cummings would take home the Bomber feature in dramatic fashion.

Dan Sturgeon would lead the field to the green flag, with Frankie Coomer outside of him. The two would go side by side down the backstretch, with Sturgeon eeking out the lead on the first lap. Coomer would then battle back to the outside of Sturgeon, and would take the point on lap two. Behind Coomer, Moon would move to the runner up spot with a pass on Sturgeon. As Coomer was riding up top, Moon was on a rail on the bottom. Moon would shoot under Coomer for the lead coming out of turn four on lap 5. With Moon now in the lead, Sturgeon and Coomer would battle it out for the second position. Sturgeon would grab the spot, putting Coomer back to third. Around the 11th circuit, Moon would begin the lapping process. At the halfway point on lap 12, the top five were Moon, Sturgeon, Coomer, Steve Barnett, and Brad Barrow. With Moon and Sturgeon by themselves, Barnett would catch Coomer for the third spot. Coomer was able to hold off Barnett's charge, however, keeping the third spot. With just five laps to go, Moon had about a full straightaway lead on Sturgeon, with Barnett and Coomer battling again for third. Barnett would get the spot away from Coomer. No one would have anything for Moon, however, as he would cruise to the victory over Sturgeon, Barnett, Coomer, and Barrow would round out the top five. Moon is sponsored by Creonix Manufacturing, Moon Power Engines, and has a C.J. Rayburn Chassis.

The 20 lap Super Stock feature started with a caution flag, as Jeremy Hines and Terrence Johnson would tangle in turn one. On the restart, Mike Cawood would lead the field to the line first on lap number one. Cawoods lead would be shortlived, as Mike Fields would get around him for the point. On the second circuit, Bobby Price would bring out the yellow for the second time. When racing resumed, a battle for the third spot would take place, as Jay Deckard would get around Cawood. Cawood seemed to be having a problem, as Tim Clark and Kevin Applegate would get around him as well. Back towards the front, Deckard and David Brewer would wage war for second. That battle would have to wait, however, as the yellow would fly for Troy Clark on lap seven. On the restart, that battle for second would resume, with Deckard taking the spot from Brewer. Brewer would then have to try to hold off Clark, but to no avail as he would lose third. Applegate would then put Brewer back to the fifth spot, as he would get around him with just six to go. With no real pressure, Fields would cruise on to the win followed by Deckard, Clark, Applegate, and Cawood rounded out the top five.

The 15 lap Bomber feature was its usual barnburner, with the action as following. Clifton Barron would lead lap number one, with Jason Combs and Ray Godsey, Jr. battling for second. Combs would keep second, with Steven Godsey coming up to battle Ray Jr. for third. Steven would take the third spot, putting Ray Jr. to fourth. The caution would fly for the first time for Jamie Wilson and Bill Wilson on the backstretch. The restart would be nullified as well for a spin involving Jacoby Hines. When racing resumed, a three way battle for the third spot would take place between both Godsey's and Bub Walters. Walters would take the third spot, and would move up to challenge Combs for second. Walters would take second, leaving Combs to battle Steve Godsey for third. That battle for third would turn into another three way, this time involving Combs, Steve Godsey, and Matt Cummings. Cummings would grab the third spot, leaving yet another three way battle for fourth. This battle would involve both Godseys and Combs. Combs would keep the fourth spot coming out of that battle. Back towards the front, Walters and Cummings would go side by side for the second position. Cummings would grab the spot, and would set sail for the leader. As the white flag would wave, Barron and Cummings would battle for the point. As the duo would come out of turn four, Cummings would take the win by about a quarter of a car length over Barron. You could literally throw a blanket over the top six cars at the line. Behind Cummings were Barron, Combs, Ray Godsey Jr, and Walters would round out the top five.


Late Models (27 entries)

Fast Qualifier: Brad Barrow (14.651)

Heat 1 - Dan Sturgeon, Steve Godsey, Brad Barrow, Dion Deason, Jeff Wilson, Brian Wilhite, Gary Hardin, Mark Barber, Rick Burton

Heat 2 - Frankie Coomer, Brad Erwin, Jim Curry, Gary Barrow, Shannon Reed, Bradley Sturgeon, Matt Bex, Rick Sowders, Dusty Chapman

Heat 3 - Rohn Moon, Steve Barnett, Tim Prince, James Huff, Mike Bechelli, Justin Blackwell, Rickey Riggle, Colin Vaughn, Duane Brown

Consy 1 - Bradley Sturgeon, Mark Barber, Brian Wilhite, Justin Blackwell, Rickey Riggle, Gary Hardin, Matt Bex, Colin Vaughn, Rick Sowders, Duane Brown, Dusty Chapman

FEATURE: - Rohn Moon, Dan Sturgeon, Steve Barnett, Frankie Coomer, Brad Barrow, Tim Prince, Steve Godsey, Mark Barber, Justin Blackwell, Brad Erwin, Dion Deason, James Huff, Shannon Reed, Bradley Sturgeon, Rickey Riggle, Brian Wilhite, Jim Curry, Mike Bechelli, Gary Barrow, Jeff Wilson

Super Stocks (35 entries)

Heat 1 - Mike Cawood, Tom Plotz, Troy Clark, Jack Frye, Josh Phelps, Jeff Walters, Jamie Pardue, Barry Gerkin, Carl Adrianson

Heat 2 - Mike Fields, Kevin Jones, Gary Green, Chris Deweese, Mickey Hines, Tom Ault, Deb Friesner, Bobby Price, Kyle Vest

Heat 3 - David Brewer, Jay Deckard, Jason Johnson, Donnie Wilson, Rob Wilson, Brian Corbin, Jim Ruddick, Terrence Johnson, Danny Carmichael

Heat 4 - Tim Clark, Kevin Applegate, Randy Moore, Jeremy Hines, Tyler Cain, Clay Ellison, Todd Gilpin, Ray Weston

Consy 1 - Jeff Walters, Bobby Price, Tom Ault, Deb Friesner, Jamie Pardue, Josh Phelps, Carl Adrianson, Mickey Hines

Consy 2 - Terrence Johnson, Rob Wilson, Danny Carmichael, Tyler Cain, Clay Ellison, Ray Weston, Brian Corbin, Jim Ruddick, Todd Gilpin

FEATURE: - Mike Fields Jay Deckard, Tim Clark, Kevin Applegate, Mike Cawood, David Brewer, Kevin Jones, Chris Deweese, Gary Green, Randy Moore, Jack Frye, Jeff Walters, Jeremy Hines, Tom Plotz, Rob Wilson, Donnie Wilson, Bobby Price, Jason Johnson, Troy Clark, Terrence Johnson

Bombers (40 entries)

Heat 1 - Clifton Barron, Mike Burch, Matt Cummings, Josh Turner, Paul Owens, Ron Pardue, Tim Prince, Jason Terrell

Heat 2 - Jason Combs, Chris Streeval, Jamie Wilson, Jim Pfieffer, Josh Hayes, Larry Neal, Gary Vest, JJ Pfeiffer

Heat 3 - Ray Godsey Jr., Sean Duke, Bill Wilson, Brandon Routier, John Holz, Seth Voorhies, Ray Weston, Chad Plance

Heat 4 - Steve Godsey, Bub Walters, Mike Seal, Andrew Davis, Terry Hensley, Tony Edwards, Chris Johnson, Mike Klyn

Heat 5 - Darrell Burton, Jacoby Hines, Greg Hicks, Doug Klyn, Mike Griffith, Erick Helton, Kent Wagner

Consy 1 - Paul Owens, Josh Turner, Jim Pfeiffer, Chad Plance, Terry Hensley, Mike Griffith, Doug Klyn, Gary Vest, Ray Weston, Seth Voorhies, Tony Edwards

Consy 2 - Brandon Routier, Josh Hayes, Eric Helton, Chris Johnson, Tim Prince, Larry Neal, Ron Pardue, Kent Wagner, Andrew Davis, John Holz

FEATURE: - Matt Cummings, Clifton Barron, Jason Combs, Ray Godsey Jr, Bub Walters, Steve Godsey, Paul Owens, Josh Turner, Mike Burch, Jim Pfeiffer, Bill Wilson, Brandon Routier, Greg Hicks, Chris Streeval, Mike Seal, Josh Hayes, Jacoby Hines, Sean Duke, Darrell Burton, Jamie Wilson