Brownstown Speedway Readies For the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Brownstown Speedway is busy making preparations for the biggest Indiana Icebreaker in the history of the speedway. 2006 will be the 9th Annual Indiana Icebreaker and will reward a $10,000 to the winner, the largest winnerís share of the purse in the nine year history of the event. For the first time the race will be sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series which should guarantee a stout field on April 1st.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series recently completed the week long "30th Annual Dart Machinery Winternationals" at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL. Claiming victories at East Bay were Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, WI, Billy Moyer of Batesville, AR, Dale McDowell of Chicamauga, GA, Matt Miller of Waterville, OH, and Steve Francis of Ashland, KY took home the final two races of the week. A separate points fund was kept for the Winternationals races, with Dennis Erb of Carpentersville, IL claiming the title. Erb also leads the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series pointís standings coming into Brownstown Speedway on April 1st. The top ten in points headed to Brownstown are: Dennis Erb, Donnie Moran, Steve Francis, Matt Miller, Earl Pearson, Jr, Don O'Neal, Rick Eckert, Tim Dohm, Doug Horton, and Billy Moyer.

The very first Indiana Icebreaker went to Moweaqua, IL driver Shannon Babb in April of 1998. Babb would go on to win the Hoosier Dirt Classic later that month. Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN would take the win in 1999 and 2000. "The Chosen One" Timmy Yeager would score his first career Brownstown Speedway feature win in 2001 at the Icebreaker. "The Modern Day Cowboy" John Gill would take his first of two Icebreaker wins in 2002. O'Neal would take his third win in 2003, with Gill completing the alternation in 2004. Dan Sturgeon held off Mike Jewell for his first Icebreaker win in 2005.

Brownstown Speedway is known for its strong contingent of local talent, and they will be ready to defend their home turf when the Lucas Oil Series invaders roll in. Leading the charge will be defending track champion Brad Barrow of Bloomington, IN. Barrow claimed his first championship of any kind of the speedway last year. More drivers that will likely be in attendance to defend Brownstown include Shannon Reed, Brent Londeree, Steve Godsey, Doug Ault, Justin Blackwell, Steve Barnett, Ricky Riggle, Mike Jewell, and many others.

Be sure to join us at Brownstown Speedway on April 1st, 2006 for the 9th Annual "Indiana Icebreaker" featuring the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.