By: Chris Nunn

Brownstown, IN -- On an evening where temperatures were scorching, fans at the Brownstown Speedway were treated to a hot night of racing action on the mile oval. Dewayne Gross found his way to victory lane in a wild Bomber main event. Jeremy Hines cruised to the win in the Super Stock division, and Steve Barnett took home the Crate Late Model Feature.

The 20 lap Bomber Main event rolled off with Bubba Woods and Josh Hayes on the front row via winning their respective heat races. Woods led the field around to complete lap one, with Edgar Godsey and Jamey Wilson battling for second. Godsey nabbed the runner up spot as they completed lap number two. Behind them a battle for fifth ensued between Dewayne Gross and Jim Pfeiffer on lap four. Gross held off Pfeiffer and then set his sights on Hayes for the fourth position on lap six. Gross got under Hayes to take the fourth position on lap seven. Back up front, Woods was now being challenged by Godsey, who was trying to get under him in the turns to get the spot. At the halfway point, it was Woods, Godsey, Wilson, Gross, and Hayes rounding out the top five. On lap fourteen slight contact was made between the top two cars of Woods and Godsey, as they battled for the lead at the five to go signal. With three to go, Godsey moved under Woods and grabbed the lead with two to go. As the field came to the white flag, Woods and Godsey made contact coming out of four, Godsey went around and was collected hard by Wilson as carnage ensued on the frontstretch. With the front three cars out of the race, Gross would now be the leader, with Hayes in second, Wes Tipton in third, Darren Crawhorn in fourth, and Pfeiffer rounding out the top five with two to go. On the restart, Gross nailed the gas and held off Hayes on the final two laps to pick up his first career feature in the Bomber division ahead of Hayes, Crawhorn, Tipton, and Pfeiffer.

The 20 lap Super Stock feature started with Jeremy Hines and Troy Clark on the front row. Hines would lead the first lap with Jim Ruddick and Earl Plessinger battling for second. Plessinger nabbed the second spot away from Ruddick on lap three, only to see Ruddick move right back alongside of him on lap four. Ruddick took the runner up spot back on lap five, bringing Troy Clark with him to third. This put Plessinger back to fourth, having to contend with Tim Clark. The caution flew on lap seven to put a halt to the action, as Nathan Patman spun in turn three. On the restart, Ruddick looked under Hines for the lead, only to see the caution fly again once again for Patman in turn three. When the green flew again, Hines darted out to about a two car advantage on Ruddick on lap eight. At the halfway point on lap ten, it was Hines, Ruddick, Troy Clark, Tim Clark, and Alan Magner completing the top five. Magner, Tim Clark, and Plessinger decided to take it three wide for the fourth spot on lap 12. Magner grabbed the spot, leaving Clark to battle with Plessinger for fifth. The third caution of the race flew on lap 13 for debris in turn one putting a stop to the battle for fifth. When the green flew, Hines once again jumped out to an advantage over Ruddick as the field completed lap 14. Behind Hines, Troy Clark began to work on the rear of Ruddick for the second spot. Ruddick pulled away from Clark down the backstretch, holding on to his second spot. With three laps to go, Hines enjoyed about a seven car length advantage over Ruddick, and looked to be stretching the advantage with two to go. As the field looked to take the white flag, the caution flew for the spun cars of Chris Deweese and Patman in turn one. A green, white, checkered finish was now set up as the field took the green flag on lap 18. Hines would hold on to the lead to take the win, his tenth on the season overall ahead of Ruddick, Troy Clark, Plessinger, and Magner

The Crate Late Model feature hit the track with Steve Barnett and Mark Barber on the front row. Barnett took to the bottom of the track and led lap one with Barber in second and Jim Moon in third. Moon lost the third position on lap three, as Brad Barrow moved under him in turn four. Moon then tried to move back under Barrow on lap four. The duo ran side by side as the caution flew on lap five for the spun car of Rex Blackwood. On the restart, Barnett darted out to a half straight lead over Barber on lap seven. Behind the leader, Steve Godsey moved into the fourth spot, getting around Moon. The second caution of the race flew on lap 11 for Tyler Allen in turn two. On the restart, a three way battle for second broke out between Barber, Barrow, and Godsey. Barrow took the second spot, leaving Barber and Godsey to duke it out for third. Godsey took the third spot away from Barber on lap 15. Barber got the third spot back, as Godsey about drifted over the turn two banking. Godsey lost two spots, as Moon went around him during the mishap. Godsey got the fourth spot back on lap 21. Up front, however, it was all Barnett as he cruised to the victory over Barrow, Barber, Godsey, and Moon completed the top five.




HEAT ONE: Steve Barnett, Jim Moon, Brad Barrow, Mike Bechelli, Rex Blackwood, Tyler Allen

HEAT TWO: Mark Barber, Mike Ruble, Chip Stitsworth, Steve Godsey, Kevin Hardin (DNS)

FEATURE: Steve Barnett, Brad Barrow, Mark Barber, Steve Godsey, Jim Moon, Mike Bechelli, Mike Ruble, Chip Stitsworth, Rex Blackwood, Tyler Allen


HEAT ONE: Jeremy Hines, Brandon Norman, Mike Cawood, Nathan Patman, Dave Barnett, Larry Booher, Tony Arthur, Kevin Jones

HEAT TWO: Troy Clark, Tim Clark, Alan Magner, David Brewer, Terrance Johnson, Darrell Burton, Jeremy Burton, Mike Gossar

HEAT THREE: Jim Ruddick, Randy Moore, Toby Perry, Don Barnett, Jerry Adams, Kevin Applegate, Gary Rahe, Bobby Price

HEAT FOUR: Earl Plessinger, Jay Deckard, Tom Ault, Chris Deweese, Jason Hehman, Mike Burch, Joe Johnson, Tim Schumpe

CONSI: Kevin Applegate, Terrence Johnson, Darrell Burton, Jeremy Burton, Gary Rahe, Dave Barnett, Tony Arthur, Tim Schumpe, Larry Booher, Joe Johnson, Jerry Adams, Jason Hehman, Bobby Price

FEATURE: Jeremy Hines, Jim Ruddick, Troy Clark, Earl Plessinger, Alan Magner, Tim Clark, Mike Cawood, David Brewer, Toby Perry, Jay Deckard, Randy Moore, Kevin Applegate, Terrence Johnson, Jeremy Burton, Tom Ault, Don Barnett, Nathan Patman, Chris Deweese, Brandon Norman, Darrell Burton


HEAT ONE: Bubba Woods, Edgar Godsey, Josh Turner, Dan Londeree, Jim Pfeiffer, Chris Wilson, Butch Bennett, Greg Baker

HEAT TWO: Josh Hayes, Dewayne Gross, Todd McDonald, Rick Vance, Paul Owens, Brian Brown, Ronnie Pardue

HEAT THREE: Jamey Wilson, Wes Tipton, Greg Roberts, Chad Stapleton, Darren Crawhorn, Ben Burton, Jerry Deloach, Tony Blair

CONSI: Chris Wilson, Ben Burton, Ronnie Pardue, Butch Bennett, Greg Baker, Brian Brown, Jerry Deloach

FEATURE: Dewayne Gross, Josh Hayes, Darren Crawhorn, Wes Tipton, Jim Pfeiffer, Ben Burton, Chad Stapleton, Chris Wilson, Dan Londeree, Greg Roberts, Ronnie Pardue, Todd McDonald, Josh Turner, Rick Vance, Bubba Woods, Edgar Godsey, Jamey Wilson, Greg Baker, Paul Owens, Butch Bennett