Babb Bags UMP Summernationals 28th Annual Hoosier Dirt Classic

Brownstown, IN-July 12, 2011- The 2011 visit by the UMP DirtCar Summernationals to Brownstown Speedway would be for the 28th Annual Hoosier Dirt Classic presented by J.D. Byrider Car Sales and Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, IL would extend his Summernationals points lead by taking the victory in the event. Other feature event winners for the evening included John Demoss of Bloomington, IN in Summit National UMP Modified Summernationals action, while Sheldon Greed of Alpine, CA was the MMSA Mini-Sprint feature winner.

Jeep Van Wormer and Shannon Babb would bring the Hoosier Dirt Classic to the green flag, but the initial start would not go as pile-up in turn three collected nine cars, with everyone but Mike Jewell able to continue, as Jewell would pull pitside with a busted oil line. Once action finally got underway, Van Wormer would pull to the race lead, with Babb second and Don O誰eal in third, while Scott James and Dillon White mixed it up for fourth and fifth. The front five would stay the same as caution would slow the action again on lap 14 and debris would spotted on the track in turn four. With action resuming, Van Wormer would still hold the point, while Babb and O誰eal would begin an entertaining battle for second that would see the pair swap the position back and forth before O誰eal would take the spot for good. O誰eal would begin to run down race leader Van Wormer and would pull alongside Van Wormer exiting turn four to complete lap 29. O誰eal would dive beneath Van Wormer in turn one and slide past Van Wormer exiting turn two, only to have Van Wormer make contact with him. Disaster would strike one lap later as O誰eal would stop on the backchute with a flat left rear tire. O誰eal would pull pitside but would express his displeasure with Van Wormer by driving into Van Wormer before exiting the track, heavily damaging the left side of Van Wormer痴 mount. When racing finally resumed, Babb would now be second and would immediately duck beneath Van Wormer off of turn two on the restart and secure the race lead with a pass exiting turn four on lap 31. Babb would pull away over the final laps to grab the victory in his Petroff Towing/Donley Trucking/Mudd痴 Repair sponsored #18 Victory Circle Chassis, powered by a Clements Race Engine. A wild battle would ensue in the final five laps for the second position, with Dennis Erb winning the battle for the runner-up spot, while Dustin Neat would claim third. Dillon White and 11th starting Jack Sullivan would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten would be 17th starting Ryan Unzicker, Van Wormer, Matt Miller, Bobby Pierce, and Scott James. In preliminary action, Van Wormer would be the overall top qualifier at 14.281 seconds among 40 entries. Heat race wins would go to Neat, Babb, O誰eal, and Van Wormer. Jeremy Hines would win the C-Main, while Unzicker would be victorious in the B-Main. Series provisional were Brandon Sheppard, Craig Vosbergen, and Tanner English, while Chad Stapleton would be the track provisional.

The 20 lap Summit National UMP Modified Summernationals main event would be an action packed affair late in the race as John Demoss would roll the topside late in the race after a caution and proceed from a sixth spot in the running order to take the lead with just a handful of laps remaining and pull away for the event win aboard the Heather Demoss owned Hoosier Drywall/Grandma and Grandpa Cooper/Landrum Springs/All Star Performance/R2C Filters/PSB sponsored #79D Bob Pierce Race Car powered by a Mullins Race Engine. Early race leader Devin Gilpin would take second, while national points leader Nick Allen would claim third. Clint Demoss and Jacoby Hines would finish fourth and fifth. Completing the top ten would be Richie Lex, Jared Bailey, Levi Kissinger, Frankie Coomer, and Steven Brooks. Twenty entries would see heat race checkered flags fall to Gilpin, Lex, and Allen.

The MMSA main event would see Sheldon Greed take the race lead late in the event from John Brettnacher and drive away to take the checkered flag in the 15 lap Mini-Sprint main event. Doug Jones would sneak past Brettnacher in the final laps to take second, with Brettnacher finishing third. Scott Bradley and Lynn Ambrose would complete the top five. Rounding out the top ten would be Howard McCormick, Collin Ambrose, Adam Stiles, Drew Dorsett, and Colin Parker. Heat race victories would be taken by Collin Ambrose, Doug Jones, and Scott Bradley.

SUMMARY-July 12, 2011

UMP DirtCar Super Late Models (40 entries)

Overall Top Qualifier- Jeep Van Wormer 14.281

1st Heat- Dustin Neat, Dillon White, Mike Spatola, Bobby Pierce, Chad Stapleton

2nd Heat- Shannon Babb, Scott James, Mike Jewell, Justin Rattliff, Ryan Unzicker

3rd Heat- Don O誰eal, Dennis Erb, Jack Sullivan, Joe Janowski, Craig Vosbergen

4th Heat- Jeep Van Wormer, Matt Miller, Chris Streeval, Steve Casebolt, Jason Jameson

C-Main- Jeremy Hines, Tyler Allen, Tom Sheets, Ben Burton, Alan Magner, Kent Robinson, Tanner English, Brandon Sheppard, Edgar Godsey, Joe Godsey, Doug Drown, Rusty Schlenk

B-Main- Ryan Unzicker, Donny Walden, Jeremy Hines, Chad Stapleton, Jason Jameson, Greg Kendall, Michael Chilton, Craig Vosbergen, Tim Rivers, Jim Price, Tom Sheets, Ben Burton, Brian Wilhite, Tyler Allen, Kevin Colston, Steve Barnett

Brownstown Dash- Chad Stapleton (track provisional), Steve Barnett, Jeremy Hines, Greg Kendall, Tyler Allen, Brian Wilhite

Series Provisionals- Brandon Sheppard, Craig Vosbergen, Tanner English

28th Annual Hoosier Dirt Classic presented by J.D. Byrider Car Sales- Shannon Babb, Dennis Erb, Dustin Neat, Dillon White, Jack Sullivan, Ryan Unzicker, Jeep Van Wormer, Matt Miller, Bobby Pierce, Scott James, Justin Rattliff, Donny Walden, Mike Spatola, Chad Stapleton, Chris Streeval, Tanner English, Craig Vosbergen, Don O誰eal, Steve Casebolt, Joe Janowski, Brandon Sheppard, Mike Jewell

UMP Modifieds (20 entries)

1st Heat- Devin Gilpin, Frankie Coomer, John Demoss, Dave Baldwin, Sam Lee

2nd Heat- Richie Lex, Steven Brooks, Ryan Thomas, J.P. Hume, Larry Booher

3rd Heat- Nick Allen, Clint Demoss, Jared Bailey, Matt Bex, Jacoby Hines

A-Main- John Demoss, Devin Gilpin, Nick Allen, Clint Demoss, Jacoby Hines, Richie Lex, Jared Bailey, Levi Kissinger, Frankie Coomer, Steven Brooks, J.P. Hume, Matt Bex, Dave Baldwin, Larry Booher, Sam Lee, Webb Lee, Jeremy Owens, Ryan Thomas (DNS- Mike Bechelli, Dennis Boknecht)

MMSA Mini Sprints (20 entries)

1st Heat- Collin Ambrose, Lynn Ambrose, Sheldon Greed, Andy Bradley, Shawn Miller, Kristin Reimer, Alex Shipman

2nd Heat- Doug Jones, John Brettnacher, Drew Dorsett, Beau Binder, Howard McCormick, Alex Sipes, Nick Hummel

3rd Heat- Scott Bradley, Dickie Gaines, Jim Gardner, Colin Parker, Michael Roehling, Jason Sanders

A-Main- Sheldon Greed, Doug Jones, John Brettnacher, Scott Bradley, Lynn Ambrose, Howard McCormick, Collin Ambrose, Adam Stiles, Drew Dorsett, Colin Parker, Alex Sipes, Shawn Miller, Jason Sanders, Michael Roehling, Kristen Roemer, Jim Gardner, Nick Humel, Dickie Gaines, Beau Binder (DNS- Andy Bradley)